16th December 2021

CTSI appoints new Chairs

Louise Baxter MBE and Steve Ruddy have been appointed as the new Chairs of the CTSI Council and Board respectively.

By JTS Staff
Journal of Trading Standards' in-house team

CTSI has named Louise Baxter MBE as its new Council Chair and Steve Ruddy as Chair of its Board.

Baxter is an expert in consumer protection who has worked in trading standards for almost 20 years, working her way up to Senior Manager, and then as Head of the National Trading Standards Scams Team at Surrey County Council. She has been CTSI’s Lead Officer for Consumer Advice and Education since 2011.

Ruddy began his trading standards career as a trainee in Leicestershire before moving to Croydon, becoming first a food law specialist, then Investigations Team Manager, and then Head of Service. In addition to his role as Chair of the Institute, he serves as Chair of the Association of Chief Trading Standards Officers (ACTSO) and Head of Service at Buckinghamshire and Surrey Trading Standards.

Baxter and Ruddy succeed Wendy Potts and Noel Hunter OBE in their respective roles.

Baxter said: “I am delighted to undertake the role of Chair of Council and thank Wendy for her work over the past year. I hope I will be able to support aspiring leaders, assist on our journey towards a modern Trading Standards Service and support members in any way I can.”

Ruddy added: “The Institute and our profession face many challenges, but we have a great foundation on which to build. We have a powerful and compelling story to tell. Our role is central to protecting residents and communities, supporting businesses, and improving health and wellbeing, and I’m very much looking forward to helping to demonstrate that.”

CTSI Chief Executive, John Herriman, said: “I am delighted to welcome Louise Baxter as Chair of the CTSI Council and Steve Ruddy as Chair of the CTSI Board.

“Louise is genuinely passionate about consumer protection, and her many years of experience working in the profession at all levels makes her a vital asset for CTSI as we work to support the trading standards profession and protect the public.

“Steve is a highly experienced leader within the trading standards profession. His contribution as Chair will prove vital as we continue our work advocating a strong trading standards profession and the excellent consumer protection standards that the public deserves.

“I wish to thank Wendy Potts for her excellent work as CTSI Council Chair over the past year during what has been an extremely challenging time for the profession. I also wish to thank Noel Hunter for stepping up and ably Chairing the Board for the second time.”

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *