5th January 2023

Product safety in New Year Honours

Jerry Burnie of the BTHA and Katrina Phillips of Child Accident Prevention Trust are among those recognised in the New Year Honours List 2023.

By JTS Staff
Journal of Trading Standards' in-house team

Jerry Burnie, the British Toy and Hobby Association (BTHA) Head of Compliance, is among the consumer protection champions recognised in the New Year Honour List 2023.

Jerry Burnie OBE speaking at the CTSI Hero Awards 2022

Burnie, who was awarded an OBE for services to businesses and consumers, has worked in product safety for several decades and has played key a role in advising government departments, standards committees and enforcement authorities, including Trading Standards. He recently delivered an opening address at the CTSI Hero Awards.

“Receiving news of this award has been a totally unexpected and amazing experience,” said Burnie. “It has only been possible due to the high level of importance placed on toy safety by the BTHA, as well as its support for and confidence in my work, for which I will always be extremely grateful.”

Katrina Phillips, Chief Executive of the Child Accident Prevention Trust (CAPT), was also awarded an OBE for services to child safety. Since her appointment as Chief Executive of the charity in September 2001, Phillips has worked to ensure that no child loses their life or endures the pain and suffering of a serious accident. In recent years CAPT has worked to raise awareness of the dangers posed by button batteries and magnetic bead toys.

Phillips said: “I am truly humbled to receive this award. I want to thank my wonderful staff team and trustees, our partners and supporters, and the NHS staff and families who share their insights and stories with us.

“I hope this award helps to highlight our work and encourage others to join us. It can’t be right that children still die or suffer disfiguring or disabling injuries in accidents that are completely preventable.”

Among other Honours recipients in this year’s list are Alan Bell, Founder of the Scottish Centre for Personal Safety, who was given an OBE for services to vulnerable people, and Maria Jennings, Director, Regulatory Compliance at the Food Standards Agency, who was awarded a CBE for services to public health.

2 responses to “Product safety in New Year Honours”

  1. Julie Grant says:

    Congratulations to Jerry who was so enthusiastic and interesting to listen to at the recent CTSI awards in London. Also congratulations to the other two recipients.
    Good work being done by all.

  2. Jerry Burnie says:

    Thank you Julie that was kind of you to say.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *